Monday MON 8 January 2018
Sunday SUN 9 April 2017
Monday MON 17 April 2017

François-Xavier Roth © Celine Gaudier (Ausschnitt)

London Symphony Orchestra / Tamestit / Roth

Monday 24 April 2017
Großer Saal

Event has already taken place


London Symphony Orchestra

Antoine Tamestit, Viola

François-Xavier Roth, Dirigent


Claude Debussy

Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune (1892-1894)

Béla Bartók

Konzert für Viola und Orchester Sz 120 (Bearbeitung / Rekonstruktion: Tibor Serly) (1945)



Béla Bartók

Arab dal «Arabischer Gesang» S 98/42 (Vierundvierzig Duos für zwei Violinen in Bearbeitung für Violine und Viola) (1931)


Anton Bruckner

Symphonie Nr. 4 Es-Dur «Romantische» (1873-1874/1878-1880)

Subscription series Orchester international

Links http://www.francoisxavierroth.com

Presented by Wiener Konzerthausgesellschaft

Debussy, Bartók, Bruckner

Two years ago when the London Symphony Orchestra last performed in the Wiener Konzerthaus, it played works by Béla Bartók. On the programme this time is Bartók’s Viola Concerto, undoubtedly one of the most important viola concertos of the 20th century. Alongside this, François-Xavier Roth has chosen two other milestones of musical history, Debussy’s symphonic poem, «Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune» – a key work of musical impressionism – and Bruckner’s wonderful «Romantic» Symphony.

Wiener Konzerthaus
Lothringerstrasse 20
A-1030 Wien

Telephone +43 1 242 002
Fax: +43 1 24200-110

Box office hours:
Monday to Friday: 9:00–19:45
Saturday: 9:00–13:00
as well as from 45 minutes prior to the performance
Telephone lines are open:
Monday to Friday: 8.00–18.00
Saturday: 9.00–13.00

The Konzerthaus thanks all of its sponsors and supporters