Konzerthaus – Portraits – Joshua Bell
Joshua Bell

Joshua Bell © www.lukasbeck.com (Ausschnitt)

Joshua Bell

Joshua Bell isn't a soloist who is just happy to rest on the laurels of his virtuosity. The US star is a violinist who uses the latest knowledge about period performance practice to get under the skin of the pieces he plays. And he is always keen to try out new roles.  In the Wiener Konzerthaus, audiences won't only have the opportunity to experience him as top soloist, but also as an extremely musical comedian.

The starting point for Joshua Bell's career is his stupendous technique and the absolute security of his command over the instrument's sound. He acquired these skills from his teacher Josef Gingold. Although he was born in Russia, Gingold – a pupil of the Belgian virtuoso and composer Eugène Ysaÿe – is very much a member of the traditional Franco-Belgian school of violin playing. «From Gingold I learned how to alter the sound of the violin through the speed of the bow,» Joshua Bell explains. «That is the difference between the French and Russian schools. And my Stradivari is simply perfect for this way of playing. It responds  perfectly to the bow's speed and it can conjure up a variety of colours that simply isn't possible on a Guarneri.»

The Wiener Konzerthaus' portrait series featuring Joshua Bell comprises four concerts.  He will perform Ernest Chausson's «Poème» and Maurice Ravel's «Tzigane» with Daniel Harding and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, two pieces that give him full rein to unfold his dazzling palette of colours and phrasing. For the other evenings, the versatile violinist will slip into other roles: just before Christmas, he will join Aleksey Igudesman and Hyung-ki Joo to celebrate «A Little Silent Night Music». «I've known the two of them for a long time. We have frequently played chamber music in Vienna's legendary Broadway-Bar», he grins. «Aleksey and Hyung-ki are not just incredibly funny, but they're also fantastic musicians.»

Joshua Bell will also appear as soloist and concertmaster in January. As artistic director of the Academy of St Martin in the Fields, he leads the London-based orchestra from the front desk. «The members of Academy have come to know my body language. They respond to even the slightest movements,» he enthuses. Alongside Beethoven's programmatic Sixth Symphony,  known as the «Pastorale», they will also perform the same composer's Violin Concerto. It's a tricky piece that Joshua Bell learned very early on: «I was thirteen at the time. I learned it in nine days and played it to Gingold by heart. It was probably completely dreadful,» he laughs.

As much as he has been influenced by the French school, Joshua Bell is not somebody to let himself be tied down by it. He very consciously chooses not to play baroque and classical repertoire in a romantic style. He says his collaborations with musicians such as Sir Roger Norrington and Sir John Eliot Gardiner have changed his understanding of this music:  «If I listen to recordings by the heroes of my youth, they sound much too stodgy and ponderous when they play baroque and classical repertoire. Sometimes their bowing is simply wrong.»

Fans of high-wire violin virtuosity are in for a treat in Joshua Bell's recital in March with his  British pianist, Sam Haywood. He has nothing but praise for his musical partner. «With Sam Haywood, I can perform virtuoso repertoire with someone who is my equal,» he raves. It will also be an opportunity to hear Bell's legendary «Gibson ex-Huberman» Stradivari.  Joshua Bell says he caught the Stradivari bug very early on: the first Stradivari he ever held in his hands belonged to his teacher Gingold: «He let me play on it and I immediately fell in love with its sweet soprano voice. That's how a violin should sound!»

Portraits

Wiener Konzerthaus
Lothringerstrasse 20
A-1030 Wien

Telephone +43 1 242 002
Fax: +43 1 24200-110
ticket@konzerthaus.at

Box office hours:
Monday to Friday: 09:00–19:45
Saturday: 09:00–13:00
as well as from 45 minutes prior to the performance
Telephone lines are open:
Monday to Friday: 08.00–18.00
Saturday: 9.00–13.00
The Konzerthaus thanks all of its sponsors and supporters

Konzerthaus – Porträts – Joshua Bell
Joshua Bell

Joshua Bell © www.lukasbeck.com (Ausschnitt)

Joshua Bell

Mit reinem Virtuosentum gibt sich Joshua Bell nicht zufrieden. Der US-amerikanische Geigenstar erarbeitet sein Repertoire mit dem Wissen um historische Aufführungspraxis und versucht sich gern in neuen Rollen. Im Wiener Konzerthaus wird er nicht nur als ausgezeichneter Solist, sondern auch als äußerst musikalischer Comedian zu erleben sein.

Ausgangspunkt für Joshua Bells Weltkarriere ist seine stupende Technik und die sichere Kontrolle über den Geigenklang. Verantwortlich dafür war sein Lehrer Josef Gingold. Obwohl er aus Russland kam, stand Gingold – als Schüler des belgischen Geigers Eugène Ysaÿe – in der Tradition der französisch-belgischen Violinschule. «Ich lernte bei Gingold, wie man mit der Geschwindigkeit des Bogens den Klang der Geige verändern kann», erläutert Joshua Bell. «Das unterscheidet die französische von der russischen Violinschule. Und meine Stradivari ist einfach perfekt für diese Art zu spielen. Sie reagiert sehr auf die Geschwindigkeit des Bogens und man kann ihr Farben entlocken, die man von einer Guarneri nicht bekommt.»

Vier Konzerte umfasst die Porträtreihe mit Joshua Bell im Wiener Konzerthaus. Mit dem Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra unter Daniel Harding wird er Ernest Chaussons «Poème» und Maurice Ravels «Tzigane» interpretieren; Stücke, die seiner Farb- und Phrasierungskunst Raum geben werden. Für die weiteren Abende schlüpft der vielseitige Geiger in andere Rollen: Kurz vor Weihnachten zelebriert er gemeinsam mit Aleksey Igudesman und Hyung-ki Joo «A Little Silent Night Music». «Ich kenne die beiden schon lange. Wir haben oft Kammermusik in der legendären Wiener Broadway-Bar gespielt», schmunzelt Bell. «Aleksey und Hyung-ki können nicht nur irrsinnig komisch sein, sondern sind auch phantastische Musiker.»

Als Solist und Leitender vom ersten Pult aus ist Joshua Bell im Jänner zu erleben. Der künstlerische Leiter der Academy of St Martin in the Fields führt sein Ensemble mit der Geige in der Hand. «Die Mitglieder der Academy kennen mittlerweile meine Körpersprache. Auch kleinste Bewegungen setzen sie um», schwärmt er vom Londoner Ensemble. Neben der sechsten Symphonie, der klangmalerischen «Pastorale», wird Beethovens Violinkonzert zu hören sein. Ein heikles Stück, das Joshua Bell schon früh gelernt hat: «Damals war ich dreizehn Jahre alt. Ich habe es in neun Tagen einstudiert und Gingold gleich auswendig vorgespielt – wahrscheinlich total furchtbar», lacht er.

So sehr ihn die französische Violinschule geprägt hat, so wenig lässt sich Joshua Bell dadurch festlegen. Barockes und klassisches Repertoire spielt er ganz bewusst nicht mit romantischem Zugang. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Musikern wie Sir Roger Norrington und Sir John Eliot Gardiner habe sich sein Verständnis dieser Musik verändert: «Wenn ich jetzt Aufnahmen der Vorbilder meiner Jugend höre, wenn sie Barock und Klassik spielen, klingt mir das viel zu schwerfällig. Manche Bogenstriche sind einfach falsch.»

Fans von Hochseilakten mit der Geige werden beim Recital-Abend im März auf ihre Rechnung kommen. «Ich kann mit Sam Haywood virtuoses Repertoire auf Augenhöhe spielen», schwärmt Bell von seinem britischen Klavierpartner. Dabei wird auch Bells sagenumwobene Stradivari «Gibson ex-Huberman» wieder glänzen. Dem Stradivari-Fieber verfiel Joshua Bell schon früh: Die erste Stradivari, die er in Händen hielt, gehörte seinem Lehrer Gingold: «Er ließ mich darauf spielen und ich habe mich sofort in diesen süßen Sopranklang verliebt. So soll eine Violine klingen!»

Porträts

Wiener Konzerthaus
Lothringerstraße 20
A-1030 Wien

Telefon: +43 1 242002
Telefax: +43 1 24200-110
ticket@konzerthaus.at

Öffnungszeiten des Ticket- & Service-Centers:
Montag bis Freitag: 9.00 – 19.45 Uhr
Samstag: 9.00 – 13.00 Uhr
sowie werktags, samstags, sonn- und feiertags
ab 45 Minuten vor Veranstaltungsbeginn
Telefonzeiten:
Montag bis Freitag 9.00 bis 18.00 Uhr
sowie Samstag 9.00 bis 13.00 Uhr

Das Wiener Konzerthaus dankt all seinen Sponsoren und Kooperationspartnern