Monday MON 1 January 0001
Monday MON 1 January 0001
Thursday THU 16 December 2021
Thursday THU 16 December 2021




Mariinsky Orchestra / Matsuev / Gergiev

Sunday 12 December 2021
Großer Saal

Informationen zum Status der Veranstaltung siehe »Anmerkungen« weiter unten (nach den Programminformationen).


Mariinsky Orchestra

Denis Matsuev, Klavier

Valery Gergiev, Dirigent


Dmitri Schostakowitsch

Symphonie Nr. 1 f-moll op. 10 (1924–1925)

Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 2 F-Dur op. 102 (1957)


Symphonie Nr. 4 c-moll op. 43 (1935–1936)


Aufgrund der von der österreichischen Bundesregierung beschlossenen Covid-19-Maßnahmen ist der Konzertbetrieb im Wiener Konzerthaus vorübergehend unterbrochen. Wir sind bemüht, für die betroffenen Konzerte die Möglichkeiten von Ersatzterminen zu prüfen. Sobald mögliche Verschiebungen geklärt sind, werden wir Sie schriftlich über den Ersatztermin oder die endgültige Absage informieren. Im Fall einer ersatzlosen Absage informieren wir Sie zudem über die Abwicklung der Kartenrücknahme und die Rückzahlung des Kartenwerts.

Unterstützt von Gazprom Neft Trading GmbH und Sberbank Europe AG
Medienpartner Der Standard

Subscription series Meisterwerke
Das STANDARD-Konzerthaus-Abo


Presented by Wiener Konzerthausgesellschaft

Pure Shostakovich

One of Russia's most historic institutions, the Mariinsky Orchestra is today one of the most important orchestras in the world: its mission, already evident in its early tsarist years, to devote itself to both Russian and European music, continues to define its repertoire. The orchestra will devote its three-day guest performance entirely to the works of Dmitri Shostakovich. Shostakovich's oeuvre is a lesson in how an artist can retain his creative freedom even in a dictatorship, despite constant accusations of formalism. Shostakovich lived and worked exclusively in the Soviet Union and was sometimes celebrated, sometimes condemned. Uncompromising in substance, now and then conciliatory in form, he brilliantly knew how to circumvent the dictates of socialist realism in order to express what he felt and what he wanted to communicate to his listeners.

In addition to his First Symphony, which Shostakovich composed during his student years and on which Alban Berg congratulated him, his Fourth is also on the program. This dates from the difficult period when he felt compelled to deal with the accusation of formalism published anonymously in »Pravda« and did not reach the stage until 1961.

Finally, Shostakovich composed his second piano concerto on the occasion of his son Maxim's 19th birthday. Denis Matsuev, one of the most important Russian piano virtuosos of our time, breathes life into the solo part. 

Supported by

Media Partner


Wiener Konzerthaus
Lothringerstrasse 20
A-1030 Wien

Telephone +43 1 242 002
Fax: +43 1 24200-110

The Ticket- & Service-Center will be closed to customer traffic from Monday 22.11.2021 for the duration of the lockdown.

Telephone hours: Monday to Friday 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Opening and telephone hours
September to June

Monday to Friday 10.00 am to 6.00 pm
Saturday 10.00 am to 2.00 pm
Sundays and public holidays
24th December and Good Friday
3rd and 4th January
Please purchase your tickets on these days online.

July and August

Monday to Friday 10.00 am to 2.00 pm
Saturday, Sundays and public holidays
Please purchase your tickets on these days online.

Evening box office

1 hour prior to performances
Only ticket purchases and collections for the events of the respective day or evening can be made.

The Wiener Konzerthaus would like to thank all its sponsors and cooperation partners.