Monday MON 10 April 2023
Sunday SUN 30 April 2023
Tuesday TUE 15 March 2022
Wednesday WED 16 March 2022
Friday FRI 18 March 2022
Saturday SAT 19 March 2022
Sunday SUN 20 March 2022

Philharmonic Five © Julia Wesely

Philharmonic Five

»Slavonic Soul«

Tuesday 22 March 2022



Philharmonic Five

Tibor Kováč, Violine

Lara Kusztrich, Violine

Holger Tautscher-Groh, Viola

Orfeo Mandozzi, Violoncello

Adela Liculescu, Klavier


Antonín Dvořák

Klavierquintett A-Dur op. 81 (1887)


»Slavonic Soul«

Sergej Prokofjew

Romeo und Julia. Ballett op. 64 (Teilaufführung in Bearbeitung von Tibor Kováč) (1935–1936)

Ihor Schamo

Jak tebje ne lyubiti, Kiewe mij »Wie könnte man Dich nicht lieben, mein Kiew« (Bearbeitung: Irina Dankevich) (1962)

Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowsky

Kuda, kuda, kudavi udalilis »Wohin seid ihr entschwunden« (Arie des Lenskij aus »Eugen Onegin«) (Bearbeitung: Tibor Kováč) (1877–1878)

Tibor Kováč

Slavonic tunes for piece

Antonín Dvořák

Kdyz mne stará matka »Als die alte Mutter mich noch singen lehrte« op. 55/4 (Zigeunermelodien) (Bearbeitung: Tibor Kováč) (Bearbeitung für Violine und Klavier: Fritz Kreisler) (1880/1914)

Georg Breinschmid

Wien bleibt Krk (Bearbeitung: Georg Breinschmid, Aleksey Igudesman und Tibor Kováč)



Harold Arlen

Over the rainbow (Aus dem Film »The Wizard of Oz«, Regie: Victor Fleming, USA 1939) (Bearbeitung: Orfeo Mandozzi) (1939)


Unterstützt von Wiener Städtische Versicherungsverein und Wiener Städtische

Subscription series Philharmonic Five

Links https://www.philharmonicfive.com

Presented by Wiener Konzerthausgesellschaft

Slavonic Soul

Music that you not only hear, but experience with all five senses. Three musicians from the ranks of the Vienna Philharmonic, an international soloist on the cello, and an exceptional pianist combine their sound aesthetics, art of phrasing, and virtuosity with modern expressive dynamics, thereby creating a unique musical world in which old and new merge into radiant harmony.

This time the ensemble dedicates itself to Dvořák's Piano Quintet, whose genesis is due to a coincidence. When the composer came across the score of his early piano quintet, Op. 5, while rummaging around in 1887, he was so dissatisfied with its quality that he wrote a new work in the same instrumentation, key and layout. To this day, it remains one of the composer's most performed, for it represents the paradigm of Dvořák's chamber music: rich melodic invention, lush sound, masterful form, folksiness alongside late Romantic pathos, Czech influences reflected in the titles of the middle movements. In the second part of the concert, Philharmonic Five then looks deep into the »Slavonic soul« with works by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Sergei Prokofiev and others.

Supported by

Logo VIG

Logo Wiener Städtische


Wiener Konzerthaus
Lothringerstrasse 20
A-1030 Wien

Telephone +43 1 242 002
Fax: +43 1 24200-110

Opening and telephone hours
September to June

Monday to Friday 10.00 am to 6.00 pm
Saturday 10.00 am to 2.00 pm

July and August

Monday to Friday 10.00 am to 2.00 pm

September to June: Sundays and public holidays | 24th December | Good Friday
July and August: Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays
Please purchase your tickets on these days online.

Evening box office

1 hour prior to performances
Only ticket purchases and collections for the events of the respective day or evening can be made.

The Wiener Konzerthaus would like to thank all its sponsors and cooperation partners.