Monday MON 1 January 0001
Monday MON 1 January 0001
Saturday SAT 4 February 2023
Sunday SUN 5 February 2023
Monday MON 20 February 2023
Saturday SAT 24 December 2022
Sunday SUN 25 December 2022
Monday MON 26 December 2022
Tuesday TUE 27 December 2022
Patricia Kopatchinskaja / Fazıl Say

Patricia Kopatchinskaja / Fazıl Say © Marco Borggreve

Patricia Kopatchinskaja / Fazıl Say

Patricia Kopatchinskaja / Fazıl Say © Marco Borggreve

Patricia Kopatchinskaja / Fazıl Say

Sunday 11 December 2022
Großer Saal



Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Violine

Fazıl Say, Klavier


Leoš Janáček

Sonate für Violine und Klavier (1914–1915/1916–1922)

Johannes Brahms

Sonate d-moll op. 108 für Violine und Klavier (1886–1888)


Béla Bartók

Sonate Nr. 1 Sz 75 für Violine und Klavier (1921)



Béla Bartók

Poarga româneasca »Rumänische Polka« Sz 56/5 (Román népi táncok »Rumänische Volkstänze«) (1915)

Maruntel »Schnell-Tanz« Sz 56/6 (Román népi táncok »Rumänische Volkstänze«) (1915)


Medienpartner Ö1 Club und Der Standard

Subscription series Virtuos!
Das STANDARD-Konzerthaus-Abo


Presented by Wiener Konzerthausgesellschaft

Chamber music of the most exciting kind

It is no surprise that Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Fazıl Say have been friends for many years, as the violinist and the pianist share a similar interpretive approach: both like to uncompromisingly bring out the rough edges of the seemingly most polished repertoire pieces, sparing neither themselves nor their audiences, and also like to lead them into unheard-of marginal zones of the repertoire. They bring all these qualities to bear when they once again perform together at the Wiener Konzerthaus - for the first time since 2014, by the way. The program includes three violin sonatas from the late Romantic and early Modern periods: Leoš Janáček's only violin sonata, composed at the beginning of the First World War, betrays the opera composer in its terse and bizarrely gripping style. In his intimately singing third and last violin sonata, Johannes Brahms once again refers to the Csárdás romanticism that had been familiar to him since his early encounter with the Hungarian violinist Ede Reményi. Béla Bartók, on the other hand, who is regarded as the discoverer of »authentic« Hungarian folk music, produced one of his most radical expressionist pieces with the First Violin Sonata. The fact that it is also one of his most virtuosic makes it the brilliant final piece of an evening in which Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Fazıl Say show themselves from their most exciting side.

Wiener Konzerthaus
Lothringerstrasse 20
A-1030 Wien

Telephone +43 1 242 002
Fax: +43 1 24200-110

Opening and telephone hours
September to June

Monday to Friday 10.00 am to 6.00 pm
Saturday 10.00 am to 2.00 pm

July and August

Monday to Friday 10.00 am to 2.00 pm

September to June: Sundays and public holidays | 8th September | 24th December | Good Friday
July and August: Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays
Please purchase your tickets on these days online.

Evening box office

1 hour prior to performances
Only ticket purchases and collections for the events of the respective day or evening can be made.

The Wiener Konzerthaus would like to thank all its sponsors and cooperation partners.