Wednesday WED 1 March 2017
Friday FRI 3 March 2017
Sunday SUN 5 March 2017

Alan Gilbert © Chris Lee

New York Philharmonic / Landshamer / Gilbert

Wednesday 29 March 2017
19:30 – ca. 21:30
Großer Saal

Event has already taken place


New York Philharmonic

Christina Landshamer, Sopran

Alan Gilbert, Dirigent


Béla Bartók

Musik für Saiteninstrumente, Schlagzeug und Celesta Sz 106 (1936)


Gustav Mahler

Symphonie Nr. 4 G-Dur für großes Orchester und Sopran-Solo (1899-1901)

Subscription series Orchester international

Links http://nyphil.org

Presented by Wiener Konzerthausgesellschaft

Refinement of sound

Last year, Alan Gilbert announced that he would step down as chief conductor of the New York Philharmonic in 2017. He headed the orchestra for 10 years and was the first New Yorker to take the helm of the world-famous ensemble set up in 1842. He is still a big fan of the orchestra's sound: «It's such an expressive, warm sound, so homogenous in the best sense of the word. If things have to stand out, then they do. But the refinement of the sound is so subtle!» The orchestra and Gilbert will appear in Vienna where they will perform Béla Bartók's scorching Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta, as well as Gustav Mahler's delicate Fourth Symphony, with Christina Landshamer as soprano soloist.

Wiener Konzerthaus
Lothringerstrasse 20
A-1030 Wien

Telephone +43 1 242 002
Fax: +43 1 24200-110

Box office hours:
Monday to Friday: 9:00–19:45
Saturday: 9:00–13:00
as well as from 45 minutes prior to the performance
Telephone lines are open:
Monday to Friday: 8.00–18.00
Saturday: 9.00–13.00
Special office hours and telephone booking during the summertime (25 June until 26 August 2018):
Monday to Friday 09.00–13.00

The Konzerthaus thanks all of its sponsors and supporters